Non-EU Student Exchange Program

Students of the University of Vienna are offered the possibility of participating in the Non-EU Student Exchange Programme by spending one or two semesters at a partner university in North or Latin America, Australia, Asia, Africa, Russia or the Ukraine.

This is possible provided the desired host university has concluded an exchange agreement with the University of Vienna.

Information on

Winter Semester 2020/21

Although the International Office is currently making all the necessary preparations for the implementation of mobilities in the winter semester 2020/21, we should all be aware that, given the current situation, mobilities cannot be guaranteed, as the situation may change at short notice.

We therefore recommend that you consider the possibility to postpone your stay until the summer semester 2021. If a postponement is not possible, we ask students to refrain from financial obligations as far as possible.

The International Office closely monitors developments and recommendations, and follows the travel warnings of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (in German). The University of Vienna therefore reserves the right to withdraw nominations in regions with a high security risk, even at a short notice, and to block spots. In any case, stays in countries with a high security risk (level 5-6) are not possible.


Information for the academic year 2021/22

The University of Queensland will be available for semester 1 (summer semester) 2022.


Kyushu University will be new partner university in Japan

Apply for a student exchange at Kyushu University. The application for the academic year 2021/22 will be open at the beginning of October. All information on application and submission can be found here.


New university-wide agreement with the University of Dar Es Salaam

The University of Dar Es Salaam is now open for all fields of study.

 Exchange placements

You can find the right partner university for a stay abroad within the Non-EU Student Exchange Programme here.