CEEPUS Student Mobility

CEEPUS (Central European Exchange Programme for University Studies) is a Central European mobility programme based on an agreement between the secretaries of education of the following countries: Albania, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Macedonia, Moldavia, Montenegro, Poland, Rumania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, the Czech Republic and Hungary. The universities of Prishtina, Prizren and Peja may also participate.

Students may apply for a study period at the University of Vienna via a CEEPUS Network if the student's home university is a member of such a  network. Please have a look at the list of CEEPUS Networks with the participation of institutes of the University of Vienna.

Students whose university/institute is not part of a CEEPUS Network may apply for the status of a CEEPUS Freemover and therefore  need a 'Letter of Acceptance' from their chosen host-university for their application. Students have to look after getting such a 'Letter of Acceptance' themselves.

Please note that the ‘Letter of Acceptance’ does not have to be provided at the time of the application. Only after the pre-selection by the CEEPUS-office and the corresponding notification the applicants are asked to upload the ‘Letter of Acceptance’.

Exemption from tuition fees

According to the Austrian Study Law CEEPUS students are exempted from the tuition fees at the University of Vienna. Individual confirmations concerning the exemption from tuition fees will not be issued by the University of Vienna.

Academic supervision

Students who would like to attend lectures as CEEPUS Freemovers have to contact the respective Studien Service Center. CEEPUS Freemovers who would like to do research at the University of Vienna need to contact the respective head of the department.


Please refer to your home university or to the CEEPUS office.

For the admission at the University of Vienna please refer to the Admission office. For your admission you will need a CEEPUS letter guaranteeing you a CEEPUS grant (contact: CEEPUS office).