Logo der Universität Wien
Font:

Deutsch

Stanford University – Distinguished Visiting Austrian Chair Professorship

The Distinguished Visiting Austrian Chair was established in 1976 as a donation of the Republic of Austria to Stanford University on the occasion of the 200th anniversary of the foundation of the United States. This generous donation goes to the Austrian Chair (a 6 month teaching and research appointment at Stanford University, between January and June) every academic year. 

Target Group

The Stanford Chair targets scholars at Associate Professor Rank or above (“Habilitation” or comparable qualification), who are employed at an Austrian university. Professors emeriti or retired professors cannot apply for this program. Scholars whose research interests overlap either with The Freeman Spogli Institute of International Studies and its Europe Center or with fields supported by faculty research in any of the seven schools of Stanford University are also invited to apply.

Call for Applications

Applicants for the Austrian Chair will be invited every three years for three consecutive academic years. Thus, prospective Stanford Chair holders have more time to prepare their visit to Stanford University. The next call will be announced in 2018.

Selection Committee

The selection committee consists of:
•    the chairperson (Vice Rector for Research and International Affairs of the University of Vienna)
•    a representative of the Austrian Ministry for Science, Research and Economy
•    a representative of the Austrian Ministry for Europe, Integration and Foreign Affairs
•    4 scholars nominated by the Austrian University Rectors‘ Conference („Österreichische Universitätenkonferenz“)
•    one scholar of the University of Vienna who is in charge of the cooperation with Stanford University
The latter five persons form the jury and will evaluate the applications in their respective field.

University of Vienna | Universitätsring 1 | 1010 Vienna | T +43-1-4277-0

Logo der Universität Wien
Schrift:

English

Stanford University – Distinguished Visiting Austrian Chair Professorship


Der Distinguished Visiting Austrian Chair ist ein Geschenk der Republik Österreich an die Stanford University und wurde im Jahr 1976 anlässlich der 200-Jahrfeier der Gründung der USA eingerichtet. Die Erträge aus diesem Geschenk werden für die Finanzierung des Austrian Chairs für einen Lehr- und Forschungsaufenthalt an der Stanford University für 6 Monate (Jänner bis Juni eines akademischen Jahres) gewidmet.

Zielgruppe

Die Zielgruppe des Stanford Chairs sind WissenschafterInnen mit Habilitation oder vergleichbarer Qualifikation („associate professor rank or above“), die ein aufrechtes Dienstverhältnis an einer österreichischen Universität haben. Emeritierte UniversitätsprofessorInnen und ProfessorInnen im Ruhestand können sich nicht bewerben. Bewerbungen sind für jene Forschungsbereiche möglich, die entweder am Europe Center des Freeman Spogli Institute of International Studies der Stanford University oder einer der sieben Schools der Stanford University vertreten sind.

Ausschreibung

Die Ausschreibung erfolgt alle drei Jahre für drei aufeinanderfolgende Studienjahre. Damit wird ermöglicht, dass die InhaberInnen des Stanford Chair mehr Zeit für die Vorbereitung des Aufenthalts haben. Die nächste Ausschreibung wird voraussichtlich im Herbst 2018 veröffentlicht werden.

Auswahlkommission

Die Auswahlkommission besteht aus:
•    der/dem Vorsitzenden (Vizerektor/in für Forschung und Internationales der Universität Wien)
•    einer Vertreterin/einem Vertreter des Bundesministeriums für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Wirtschaft
•    einer Vertreterin/einem Vertreter des Bundesministeriums für europäische und internationale Angelegenheiten
•    vier WissenschafterInnen, die von der Universitätskonferenz nominiert werden
•    einer Wissenschafterin/einem Wissenschafter der Universität Wien, die/der für die Kooperation mit der Stanford University zuständig ist.

Die fünf letztgenannten Personen sind als ReferentInnen für die Bewertung der eingereichten Anträge ihres jeweiligen Forschungsbereichs zuständig.

Begutachtungs- und Auswahlverfahren

Eine Vorentscheidung über die Bewerbungen erfolgt durch die Auswahlkommission.
Die endgültige Auswahl erfolgt durch die Stanford University.

Universität Wien | Universitätsring 1 | 1010 Wien | T +43-1-4277-0